It sounds a bit like waterboarding, actually.

One of my favorite new HAES reads is the eZine “More of Me to Love.” Go over and check it out if you haven’t seen it yet. Their aim is to provide size-positive health and nutrition information. And it looks like they’ve got a community forum and stuff, so all good stuff. Except today, with their nutrition article about eating well while living a busy life. I was pretty much OK with her suggestions, that is until I came to number 5:

5) Drink half your body weight in ounces of water throughout the day. A portable water bottle can help keep your water intake up all day.

…and I had to pause. Did she really just advise me (and other fatties) to drink half my body weight in ounces of water per day? Honestly? HALF? Assuming my weight is somewhere around 200 (which I wouldn’t know because I no longer weigh myself), that’s 100 ounces of water! More than twice the amount of water which is generally accepted as “enough.” 48 ounces is what I was supposed to tick off in my WW food diary and other sources I’ve seen have the number going as high as 64. But 100?

And what if you’ve got TEHDETHFATZ and her prescription has you drinking 150 or 200 ounces of water per day? Look, I know that water intoxication (and death from it) is rare, but it does happen. What about drinking water intuitively, and on demand, the way we’re supposed to be feeding ourselves? Eat when hungry, drink when thirsty. Done.

And yeah, yeah, I know–the general wisdom for years has been that our body doesn’t always know when it’s thirsty, that the hunger and thirst signals are often confused and we (read: FATTIES) respond as if to hunger rather than to thirst. But half our body weight in ounces? That seems rather extreme. May I suggest the Mayo Clinic’s guidelines more moderate approach?

